Bug fix – release 0.1

For the past couple of days, I spent learning the environments, vagrant, npm and understanding my bug.

This was the bug I decided to work on.
https://github.com/mozilla/thimble.mozilla.org/issues/1630.
This issue addressing the ability to insert code snippets into files.

i.e.
For example, when editing HTML, it might be nice to have a dropdown that lets users add…

  • A bulleted list with a few blank items
  • A small form
  • An empty HTML comment
  • A definition list
  • An empty table…

We could have different snippets depending on the type of file being edited.

For this issue  I decided to split it into 2 parts:

  • Bramble Side of things (Functionality)
  • Thimble Side of things(UI)

So far I’ve gotten the Bramble Side of things working. In addition, I’ve submitted a pull request and gotten it successfully merged.
Pull Request: https://github.com/mozilla/thimble.mozilla.org/issues/1630

To get that part of the code working I got helpful advice from Luke Pacholski, David Humphrey, Gideon Thomas. However, it took me a while to fully understand the flow of the program and how to get things working.

After debugging the code I ended with a working solution:

framed-bramble-google-chrome-2017-02-07-12_41_09-am

After getting this far, I’m now about to undertake part 2 of this bug/issue.

Stay tuned for the next release!

Leave a comment